Free Deaths! Just Reclaim the Rift!

Does death always have the best moves in the game of life?

I was pretty optimistic, there, recounting a recent guild Epic Elite run in “Trial By Fury.”

I had to pass on a later guild EE run into “Deal and the Demon” but was able to make a venture into EE “Reclaiming the Rift” last night.

Death was there as usual, but he opened up a strip mall for us, handed us complimentary tickets to get killed as often as we didn’t want, sold invitations for every enemy to come help us die in several gruesome and immediate ways, and to break practically every piece of gear we carried.

Lynncletica joined in, as before, the one character I have that I have fortified and trained and equipped to survive better than any other character I have for Epic Elite. I think I survived about 5-10 seconds longer on average than the rest of the party.

I’ve asked others in the DDO Forums to give us their take on that quest in EE difficulty. As I admitted in the thread, we likely went in too “light,” with two pure Light Monks, one Cleric Monk, a Bard and a Barbarian.  In this fight, a powerful “sword and board’ melee such as a Paladin is likely needed. I’m sure I’ll get some interesting answers (and a few who can’t help but rub it in).

For me, the deaths often came from enemy mages that pummeled me with death spells or elemental damage faster than I could reach them and smack them silly with a stun. If it wasn’t the mages, it was the dracoliths that dealt absolutely brutal slashing damage in the 130 range.

So it’s back to the drawing board I go to study specific quests and how specific classes handle it better than others. I’m sure that Monks don’t fare as well against slashing damage, but often I save enough against such attacks not to come to grips with this problem, until now.

I’m sure I’ll have a few answers in the thread that suggest multiclassing a bit. I don’t like to do this but rather try to push a single class to its fullest. That, and Epic Destinies add similar versatility than complicating a character’s build identity by splitting it two or three ways.

Feel free to relate your EE fight experiences–please! Knowing is half the battle! (The other half is fighting it.)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ddomicki
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 12:45:47

    My EE experience: best runs have been with EE able cc and awsome dps. cc and kill before the mobs can hit u back. EE without cc is possible, but it requires going slow and focusing dps on one mob at a time (which is hard in a quest like Reclaiming the rift, of course).

    As I only run my cleric, I tend to tell ppl to “stay together” “I’m focusing my heals on that person, stay close to him for heals” etc. But yeah, still cc makes everything a lot more manageable. Love the high dc wizards.

  2. ddolegend
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 12:59:29

    I had a great time getting the EE favor with my pure stalwart fighter, me and my guildie (fvs) duoed most of them, like Micki mentioned we had to be careful and go at a slow pace, some took a very long time but after we did the first 3 in kings forest we wanted to se if we could do more

  3. teachersyn
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 15:24:35

    The forum posts concur with both of you. It’s funny to me. One of my guild’s edicts is to never “zerg.” So here I am, realizing that we were zerging like crazy, in principle.

    I’ll have to do more updating on my guides for the guild and the Monk on highly recommending effective ranged attacks and crowd control to fights like this.

  4. geoffhanna
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 08:28:38

    Interesting read. Thank you :)

  5. Keavaa
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 16:44:12

    I look forward to doing quite a few EEs as I’m about to be on annual leave from work for a week, and a RL friend is on break too. I have the muscle and he has the heals, hopefully we can attract a few adventurous people to a little foray.

    • teachersyn
      Apr 09, 2013 @ 08:20:23

      I do love these quests as they REALLY throw off your expectations and shake your complacency of how developed or powerful you think you are. They really are a matter of tactics and maximizing that ability, rather than how much you can explode or how often you can hit. Good luck!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

