A Shuricannon Video

Szyn-Lailat

There are many fans of Firewall’s Shiradi Shuricannon, and I’m one of them.

Some skeptics posting in the thread asked if there were any video of the Shuricannon in action to see how the build worked.

Now there is. I’ve created a video of my then-L19 Szyncletica tearing through the Shavarath side of the Vale of Twilight and completing “Running with the Devils” on Hard difficulty.

“Devils” is actually nastier than other Shroud flagging quests and on par in difficulty with “Wrath of the Flame” from the Devil Battlefield. Why? Both quests have enemies that are Good-aligned with significant buffs and protections that thwart player weapons.

In the case of the Eladrin in this quest, they are superior enemies with Cold Iron damage reduction and are prolific spellcasters. If you don’t take their healers down fast, you’re going to get Divinely Punished for it.

Given the weapon limits of a Shuricannon, this seemed a short-enough quest to demo what it can do.

I note the ‘Cannon’s strengths, requirements, common equipment, weaknesses and rationale throughout the video. My primary weapon is a Green Steel Mineral II star to bypass the Eladrin and devil DR without issue. Even with the bug that caused Sting of the Ninja to stop working on shuriken with Update 21, Szyncletica still controls the dungeon.

Very shortly after this run, Szyn reached level 20. She reactivated her Shiradi Champion and Primal Avatar destinies, entered “Blown to Bits” on Hard difficulty and tore everything apart on a pure solo run. I took down the Fire Iron Golem optional boss faster than with any character I have as I could continually attack him without having to concern myself about his det-packs.

If you have any questions on the video, just comment. I’ll be linking this post to the Shuricannon thread as well, where you should post for specific questions on the build itself with his creator.

(I apologize for the video’s darkness. I did find a tweaking setting on YouTube that should make the video much clearer to see.)

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Saekee
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 15:02:16

    nice job and thx for the explanations. i figured you could have stealthed by many of those opponents but you chose the Path of Slaughter!
    I imagine level 19 is frustrating since in one level you get vorpals etc. at capstone.
    I was wondering why you had the Voice of the Master equipped–maybe something else there, such as the Spyglass for True Seeing etc.?
    Thx again and I look forward to more posts!

    Reply

    • teachersyn
      Apr 13, 2014 @ 17:27:18

      Kiricletica is all about shadow. Szyn is all slaughter but does sneak but a few things once in a while and has similar numbers to do so as do all my ninjas. But now Szyn is 21, and she just ripped through Shavarath’s halls on solo as well, but with more blood and gore with frozen, vorpaled and standard- and nerve-paralyzed bodies behind her. The ‘Cannon is completely badass. :)

      Reply

    • teachersyn
      Apr 13, 2014 @ 17:29:05

      At the time, I didn’t have any other trinket, in regards to the Voice, so I left it for the +1 to saves. Now have a Devotion of Healing Lore crafted trinket there. In a perfect world I’d wear a Shimmering Arrowhead but I’m still ticked that I couldn’t farm one in my first life. Well, guess what’s on the 2nd life bucket list. :)

      Reply

  2. Aganthor
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 11:51:01

    Can’t wait for the epic version :) Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. discipleeli
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 13:11:20

    Hey, Just wanted to post a comment saying that i enjoy reading your blog. I recently started my own, however it doesn’t have anythign to do with DDO; I’m currently serving a mission for my church, so my blog is my attempt to try to explain what my church is about and what i do as a missionary. Sometimes i see things in your posts that reminds me a lot of the things that i was taught in church and i would like to make references to your blog if that’salright with you? You’re also welcome to read what i’ve posted so far to see if it’s alright with you.
    Oh, and you may not remember me, but back when MyDDO was a thing i asked you for help with beuilding a monk, my name for DDO back than was CabooseJTS. No idea if that rings any bells, but just wanted to let you know that your advice, and your “Book of Syncletica”really helped my monk a lot.

    Reply

    • teachersyn
      Apr 14, 2014 @ 13:23:57

      Hi. Feel free to link as you need to do. While DDO is a game, my feelings about monastic life are closer to my life than I express here. Less Shaolin fighting, more Benedictine, if I may say, as I’m Catholic. So while I’m not trying to petition the devs to make the game “more peaceful,” I do seek that quasi-spiritual side of the game where fighting is not all there is, or is more than what it is.

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Epic Shuricannon: Nothing Comes Close | The Order of Syncletica
  5. Trackback: A Monastic Video Showcase | The Order of Syncletica

The Teacher awaits your insight...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

