Shameless Boast: My First 20th Shroud

My stalwart level 20 Light Monk, Syncletica, completed her 20th Shroud yesterday in the company of her guildies on Tyrs Paladium. It was a textbook run, with only a slight misstep in Part 2. Despite a really ugly-looking monster selection there (kobald, fire elemental, troll and lion), we finished it well,  zipped through part 3 in under 5 minutes and nearly took down ‘Arry in our first swing at him.

Just one death in Part 4, although not from the dreaded Shroud Blades. As promised, the devs did nerf them down a bit so that they do not strike as often, yet still persist long enough to keep you on your toes. ‘Arry, on the other hand, was still as mean as ever with flying meteor strikes. One, combined with lag, took out 1 guildmate, but the party smacked ‘Arry forward to part 5, which threatened to become a little uglier at the very end.

Four guildmates died as ‘Arry was less than 10%. Up to this point I had continued to experiment with Syn’s handwraps to determine the better damage output against ‘Arry. Syncletica is a Shintao III (natural Silver DR) wearing a Holy-Bursted Kyosho’s Ring (Good DR), so all that was left was to add on some sauce to that pit fiend’s goose. The answer came with some handwraps I’d tried off and on but could never quite love, until now: the Unstable Handwraps. Thanks to an Artificer in the party, they received Shocking weapon damage. Combined with Silver/Good DR, Mountain Stance III as well as a Greater Bold Trinket for Shocking Blow criticals, I gave it everything  I had, watching many purple numbers rise from the boss from the electrical attacks as well as the Outsider bane, spamming Void Strike IV and Earth strikes with Healing Ki later as our clerics began to go into damage control. Our guild persevered once more, plowing  ‘Arry down.

So, finally, I have the final piece of the puzzle to Syncletica’s Riddle: How can you have maximum HP, saves, fortification and damage while keeping blindness, deathblock and many other essentials also in place? That piece is an Essence of Cleansing from my end-game loot list, tucked comfortably amidst several +2 tomes and one tempting +3 DEX tome. Now I can soon wear my Triple-Immunity Deathblock Goggles in tandem with my +45 HP cloak, allowing permanent use of the Icy Raiment robes for the best all-around numbers I can think of grabbing for now.

The only thing I have left to consider are my bracers. While the Jidz-Tet’ka bracers are still great situationally, an epic version would add a touch more AC. But epic runs through “The Tide Turns” will be slow in coming as my guildmates with Monks make their way upward in levels.

As soon as I find a charitable guild that will let me borrow their ship’s Altar of Devastation for some quick crafting, I’ll have Syncletica about as powered up as I can make her in this, her first life.

Thanks to everyone in my guild and all my fellow players in PUGs that helped me out in any and all ways possible!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LrdSlvrhnd
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 15:58:55

    Congrats on #20! My monk’s getting close, I could probably hit it by the end of the month if I tried.

    I’ve heard that the bane damage on the Unstable Handwraps don’t work, so you might be better off looking for Shock/Shocking Burst of Greater Lawful/Evil Outsider Bane, and then having a friendly arti cast the new Deadly Weapons on you if available (Although Anarchic of GEOB with Shocking Weapons would also be quite nice lol) – I know I was doing force damage last night, and I’m *pretty* sure it wasn’t just when I was spamming earth and void strikes.

  2. Evennote
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 19:41:49

    Oooh, I’m going to have to try Acanthia’s Unstable Wraps on Harry now that she has Holy Burst on one of her ToD rings. Mostly she uses +4 Seeker wraps of PG with a Festival icy burst kit on them, but now that the ring effectively makes ALL her wraps PG – yeah. She’s gonna have some fun. *grin*

    Congratulations on your 20th Shroud! If you were on Thelanis, I’d happily extend you a ship invite. 🙂

  3. Spencerian
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 18:30:27

    Thanks, Even! I need to post Syn’s final gear (or, at least I think it’s final) as well as her stats for others to compare and consider. Even if I didn’t have the Holy Burst prior to its upgrade, I did have the Shintao Cord set that gave Good DR before, so it’s a double hit.

    Definitely bring an Artificer into your Shrouds for the Unstable Handwraps to really hurt with shock damage. Better: Run another 9 ToDs for that Shocking Burst ring! I’m very tempted. Perhaps for ToD in the next life. 🙂

    I had +3 Seeker +10 Handwraps of Maiming with a little Force damage added to them in combo with that Greater Bold Trinket. It’s a potent thing.

  4. Spencerian
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 16:50:35

    Hey there,Lrd (and thanks for your leadership on the DDO Wiki–I’m the crazy bastard that expanded and clarified many of the Monk articles there).

    Yeah, I did recall that someone noted that at least one, if not both of the bane qualities on the Unstables wasn’t working. Didn’t seem to matter for damage with all the electrical pain that Greater Bold Trinket was doing in combo with my DR bursting. But yes, before I experimented, my preference against ‘Arry was a pair of +3 Shocking Burst of Maiming while in Greater Earth Stance. There was Much Rejoicing with that combo. No GEOB wraps as yet. I do keep handy a set of +4 Force Burst wraps that do nasty things with Shocking Weapons as well as spammed Void Strikes and Wind Strikes. It’s all good. 🙂

    Oh, the temporary ability with U13 of Deadly Weapons (until a later update from the Devs, when they get it working the precise way they want it) is simple Force damage to weapons. That’s a nice, nice thing against ‘Arry.

