Monk Enhancements Alpha: A Prologue

EnAlphaSummary

In the mystical server of Lammania this week exists a place where I smile, nod and cry.

This is the realm where, for a few days longer, I can browse at the upcoming changes to the format and function of Enhancements. I’m looking only at the Monk changes for the time being since time is limited before Lammania switches out the enhancements to show other sets for other classes.

With little desire to play them for now, I downloaded and installed the Lammania code, spent over a week trying to figure out why it wouldn’t launch before a couple of enterprising forum members figured out a workaround to get me going.

My objectives during this alpha (which isn’t scheduled to launch in any live update in the very near future) is thus:

  1. See how the format has changed
  2. See how Monk feats and enhancements have changed
  3. See how the Henshin Mystic format was added
  4. Note serious changes and report them in a survey to the developers immediately
  5. Spend several posts in this blog reviewing the trees and how they impact how you play today

The Format

If you’ve made an Epic character and used Epic Destinies, you won’t be surprised that the enhancement trees look and work similarly to Epic Destiny trees.

What differs from the ED trees confused me. First: There is a panel for your racial enhancements. At the base of this tree (where ED innate abilities are automatically activated as you level) are items you can click on to activate.

What irritated me greatly are the requirements for these base items. The format compels you to spend in things that are currently optional, such as Adaptability and Human Versatility, in order to spend enough AP to make other points in the racial panel active and unlocked. A waste. The base abilities waste much of your AP since they often take 2 AP to activate–in fact, most of the abilities take 2 AP to use.

Like ED skills, some enhancements have ranks where you can upgrade one enhancement up to 3 ranks.

In addition to the racial panel are what are marked as Class Enhancements. The former name of Prestige Enhancements reside on three panels, which means that the Monk has a new Prestige option. Here, you’ll find the Shintao Monk, Ninja Spy and the new, long-awaited implementation of the Henshin Mystic.

This rearrangement of the Prestige Enhancements have some promise but, in my initial look and experimentation, I found a few things that distressed me greatly.

The Review

In the coming days, I’ll take one panel at a time, break down what’s there, how it differs from the current format, and how much its contents are great/sucks/interesting/terrifyingly silly.

I’ve spotted several Monk staples that are missing, moved or augmented to benefit only one PrE that I will be ranting about to the alpha developers immediately, as I feel that the changes dangerously affect the fundamental skills that all Monks should be able to attain in any Prestige Enhancement.

A few key skills in the Shintao and Ninja panels are so distressingly off that I can’t tell you how awful it is right now to me.

As for the Henshin Mystic, it has the greatest promise if we can encourage the devs to make a few tweaks.

Stay tuned.

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ddomicki
    May 03, 2013 @ 00:06:35

    I really hope the devs take ppls comments into account and make changes before the release. So far I’ve heard a lot of neg about the new enhancement system.

    • teachersyn
      May 03, 2013 @ 07:12:14

      Right now, the devs say, they’re taking comments on the format and content and not yet working on bugs, so yes, that’s a sign of hope. It just looks too complicated to rebuild what you have based on what you’ve built before. As well, some content that applied to all PrEs are strangely placed elsewhere, requiring more resources to attain than before. Now that I think of it, I can’t recall if/how Monks gain their elemental stances as they were all moved to the feats section. Do we have to select them now? I’ll let you know more as soon as I can.

  2. Melkior Whiteblade
    May 03, 2013 @ 15:47:25

    I’m really looking forward to hearing your review!

  3. Kavatch2
    May 23, 2013 @ 15:00:17

    Wait they took out my water walking? but but that was my only happy part of the abbot.

    • teachersyn
      May 23, 2013 @ 20:01:29

      Yeah, I didn’t see it in the alpha. If they bothered to code more locations where water running is possible, it’s actually a great tactical tool. Let’s hope it makes it through the cuts.

