GenCon Bound: Home Field Advantage

I live in Indianapolis, which happens to home to GenCon Indy, which starts this Thursday and continues through Sunday. Oh, yeah. BIG travel time to this venue for me.

For most online gamers, GenCon might not be as big of a deal, since there’s a heavy concentration of pen-and-paper gaming, which I don’t do. But it’s been a while since I last attended. The convention upped its game (so to speak) by adding more recreational non-gaming programming such as parties. I’m more of a Sci-Fi conventioneer (think Worldcon, Dragoncon, Capricon, and two locally hosted ones, Inconjunction and Starbase Indy), so that change added better reasons to attend.

This year the reason to attend is simple: Say hi and meet the folks at Turbine as well as any other DDO players who visit My Fair City. I’m going to bend the ear of a developer or two (Hi, Tolero and Cordovan!)  about this whole lack of a Void Strike at low levels…but I digress.

20130812-184711.jpg

So, ticket in hand, I’ll be ready for a Friday afternoon (just Friday) and a little evening in enjoying their epic Dealer Room (more of a convention in itself).

I plan as well to sit in on the DDOCast to be recorded there with Sig and Anne Trent and (in his last regular appearance) Geoff Hanna.

If you plan on attending, I’ll be happy to say hi and chat.

Look for the guy above. He’s me.

Not quite what you’d expect in terms of all the Monk advice, huh? Thankfully (I hope) I’ve never suggested that my gender wasn’t male. Folks might be a bit put off, I think. I just love the monastic life, and “Syncletica” (a real abbess) was a cool name I couldn’t turn down. (That and girl avatars are far less ugly.)

So, if my mundane appearance (not to mention the faux gender bending) disturbs you, pretend you see me dressed as Morpheus, with my lovely bride-to-be (in 2005), who made for an astonishingly lovely Trinity, and all will be OK.

TrinityAndMorpheus

I wish I could put on my Badass Longcoat again for my visit, but it’s deteriorated after years of use, so I’ll have to commission a new one. Maybe I’ll put on an eyepatch, wear a black turtleneck and conventional trenchcoat and question how badly humanity is outmatched or how cool my ride is.

Or, put on a 24th Century Starfleet Captain’s tunic and tell you how many ways that my little starship can beat your own. I guess I could also put on my master Jedi robes and show you the magic of my lightsaber (with “BMF” etched on its helt).

Yeah, being Black and bald greatly lends itself to many different looks. Can’t quite make a decent avatar of myself in DDO, however. Don’t know what’s up with that.

I loved what a simple coat and glasses did as I walked through downtown Indy this way. Some people parted like the Red Freaking Sea, while others smiled and clapped. Nobody thought to stop and talk.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. geoffhanna
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 21:26:49

    That is an awesome Trinity 🙂

  2. grimorde
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 04:07:14

    You look like a monk!!

    • teachersyn
      Aug 14, 2013 @ 15:02:49

      If all Monks are bald and 20 pounds overweight, maybe so.

      I’m a black Chow Yun-Fat, maybe? Give me a stick against your +6 Greatsword of Awesomeness and school is now in session. 🙂

  3. longshotist
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 01:10:27

    I’m here for Gen Con too! Hope to say hi

  4. FuzzyDuck81
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 08:40:49

    Another suggestion could be to go as the leader of a mysterious group known as “Technomages” 🙂

  5. ddomicki
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 10:02:28

    😛 I was trying to think of one for you. Hmm hmm.. Daredevil Kingpin? But he’s much bigger than u are 😛 Morpheus fits you.

