The Game’s All New Again: Monk Guide Redux

I have a lot of work over the next month.

On Monday, August 19, Update 19 arrives, and with it, not only the Shadowfell Conspiracy expansion but, likely, the new enhancement format.

The enhancements completely change the game for all classes, adding new or upgraded prestige enhancements while often reworking feats.

That means that the Book of Syncletica guide is half-useless in its current state and needs a full rewrite for the game.

There’s plenty of happiness to look forward. One late addition was the rewrite of the stealth process that makes for tactical fighting by zipping and out of stealth or invisibility. I’ll get into a larger talk on this in another post as soon as I play it live.

I’m seriously considering a move of the guide from its current host to another. I would love to have it here on WordPress, but it’s built as a blog site, not a general web site format without the right theme. I’ve also wanted a very specific look for the guide that reflects a certain mystical aesthetic. Much of the core text should be transferable but rewrites will take time. I’ll put a large banner or special section warning readers that much of the guide may be obsolete until I can complete the work.

In related news, I visited GenCon and had a great time hanging out with the DDOCast hosts as they made their last broadcast before passing the baton to another host. Among the audience was Tolero, her husband and ProducerGlin. More about this entertaining night at another time.

For now, I’ve really got to get to work.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daniel Haughton
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 14:24:11

    Good luck. You’re gonna need it. I’ll be rebuilding Regtur the Mountain as best I can come Monday and will keep you updated on how that turns out.

    • teachersyn
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 17:02:02

      I almost don’t know where to begin, except to play and find out. Rebuilding each character…hm. I’m looking most forward to the results of Lynncletica the tanker as well as my ninja. Do let me know of any gotchas or pleasant surprises.

  2. ddomicki
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 02:15:17

    I never got to sorting out my monk’s enhancements on Lammania. I looked at the clerics and the wizard quickly, but yeah, I’ve got work to do too, to figure out what to do with my monk.

    • teachersyn
      Aug 19, 2013 @ 05:47:22

      There was simply too much to comprehend while playing toons you cannot copy to a live server, which compromises your time investment. I copied only 2 characters that would see the strongest changes. No time to work in how my old Avatar build will work, Syncletica or to experiment with the Henshin. Oh well. We’ll fix it in post, they say.

  3. FuzzyDuck81
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 03:35:23

    It should really be named Update 19: The rise of the kensai-monk 🙂

    • teachersyn
      Aug 19, 2013 @ 05:43:24

      May be more weapon builds in the class, that’s for sure.

      • Mernom
        Aug 19, 2013 @ 08:02:33

        last time i checked the kensei capstone made your focus weapon a monk weapon no?how can you make a multiclass that way?

        • FuzzyDuck81
          Aug 19, 2013 @ 08:53:55

          The core enhancements are tightly limited by class levels, but the “focus weapons are centered” thing is a tier 5 enhancement, to access them you only need 5 fighter levels – though it’s actually 8, since the prerequisites include the greater weapon focus feat which needs 8 fighter levels.

          Then make sure to have tier3 or 4 earth stance and fit in the PA, cleave, great cleave, imp. crit & overwhelming criticals line that’s an extra +2 crit multiplier on 19-20 rolls.. +3 in legendary dreadnaught destiny with any weapon, or even +4 with headmans chop if you’re an axe-user.

          You could go with a 12monk/8fighter, but another change means that the elemental stances are now granted as feats – free at the appropriate monk level, or they can be selected on level-up if you meet the appropriate total character level & stat prereqs.

  4. Kavatch2.0
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 16:25:46

    Sweet god in heaven the earth stanced thf shintao monk/kensai with 60 prr by lvl 10 is soo effing tank and spank its not even funny. I cant wait for my falchion crits come lvl 18.
    On another note my ninja is having a ball with dream edges. The capstone enhancement makes it like having dual deathnips with healing effects and your own personal badass rendition of carmina burana blasting in the background as you crit for days, daaaaayyyyyyyys i tell you.

  5. Kavatch2.0
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 16:28:31

    srry thats only 58 prr not 60

    • teachersyn
      Aug 19, 2013 @ 16:46:20

      Tell me about it! In Grandmaster Earth, with augments and ED, my tanker Monk had 62 PRR. It was roughly 122 PRR in the beta, and I’ll likely find some more. And a bit more AC as well. She was already nigh-invulnerable in EHard quests. Might have a better shot in EE.

  6. longshotist
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 19:19:48

    Really cool meeting up with you and everyone else at Gen Con! Looking forward to reading about your post-update stealth adventures.

