Frantic Deadlines in My Mind

"We're back in hardware mode."

“We’re back in hardware mode.”

Just a quick note that the Monk guide, the Book of Syncletica, is in active full-bore rewrite mode. Parts will be incomplete as I update a chapter at a time or create outright new ones with Update 19.

I toyed with bringing the guide into WordPress but realized that it would be more trouble that it was worth, since Sites handles webpages and WordPress is more of a blog engine.

Further, I haven’t the coin to unlock the features here for advanced appearances or have decent web coding skills to make it happen. Boy, that free-to-blog concept seems familiar…

Lots of tweaking will be left after the core updates are done. I have to play a bit more with the Henshin Mystic nee’ Avatar, Quintessica to get a better feel, and look at some racial class trees to update some new Monk race information, as well as figure out many unanswered questions, such as if certain capstone-like things still exist (such as getting 10/Epic DR on level 20). Once done, hopefully by Labor Day, all that will be missing is information on the newer loot being generated and how to utilize it.

That’s important to note, ’cause I found some Vorpal Handwraps yesterday. Yeah, the devs just opened up their mystical coding can of wantsome. I’m seeing slots on all kinds of things, Dodge items out the ying-yang and Fortification items that exceed 100%.  Riposte is a new suffix with very interesting possibilities for Monks with high miss-chance, since you make an additional attack each time an enemy misses. Wow.

Oh yeah. I need to write a letter to the devs to put a simple Void Strike attack back in the dang game to use the Level 10 special finishers, ’cause none of us are going Henshin all the time and we aren’t ponying up 30 AP just to get it.

Hopefully a few key bugs are fixed. Was playing with some guildies in “Blown to Bits” when, just as the quest finished, we got hit by super-lag that essentially froze us. We managed to get back to the entrance where the lag stopped. We made our way back to the same location and to the last bosses without further incident. I’ve been hearing of nasty lag in places but this was the first time I encountered the nastiest stuff.

And there’s the wee known issue with the Wave of Despair, a delicious Ninja Spy ninjitsu addition to the Touch of Despair finishing move that gives all nearby enemies a negative level. The problem? It gives negative levels to your allies, too. Whoops. Better not use that in party for now.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ddomicki
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 05:14:58

    I LR’d my monk, then used free feat swap to make her dark instead of light, as I thought the light finishers were moot. But I haven’t really played her since the update, as I’ve been mostly playing my cleric.

    I agree on the void strike, it was my favorite strike, but I’m not gonna spend 30 points in henshin just for void, nor do I want to give up ToD for it, even though I’ve been told tod isn’t as good as it used to be.

    • teachersyn
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 09:14:30

      My Ninja still finds Touch of Death quite adequate. I suspect that many players just tap ToD without using Touch of Despair first to magnify the damage. It looks like that the devs fixed ToD to hit more reliably to me. They really should use Touch of Despair now, with the Ninjitsu abilities that will ensure additional damage on top of Touch of Despair’s debuffing.

      Altitis is really taking a toll on me. I’m concentrating on three characters, each with one class tree so I can get the guide working. Henshin has…possibilities, but it’s a bizarre mixing of Monk, Fighter and spellcasting verve that I’m still wrapping my head around.

  2. Daniel Haughton
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 09:25:38

    It’s worth noting that Henshin literally means “transformation” or some close approximation of that in Japanese. The so-called “Magical Girl” genre of anime is also known as the Henshin genre due to the transformations the characters undergo when they access their powers.

    • teachersyn
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:34:27

      Leave it for one or more of the devs to be an anime nut. (See pot calling the kettle black here.) That means they were a nut a long time ago since the Henshin-by-name has been in-game for years but without a PrE till now. Cool trivia.

  3. kavatch2.0
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:35:56

    Yo i said that already ^-^

  4. kavatch2.0
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:45:43

    Also more on topic than the above post could you dedicate a chapter of the book to multiclassing. I think you do have a mention of it in there but as of update 19 its going to be a lot more powerful than it was and I’d like to see your thoughts on what synergizes well.

    • teachersyn
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:38:40

      If I had more experience with multiclassing outside of Clerics and Rogues, I’d do so. It’s one of the inherent limitations I’ve imposed on the guide since I’m approaching a half-century in age and don’t think I’ll find enough time in my life to place every class in the game before I draw my last breath. That, and I’m not going to find enough time to understand each class and its strengths/weaknesses (that requires someone else to write a class guide for *me* to read).

      However, the flavors we get now with the enhancements allow a blending of abilities no longer locked out as before. After the rewrite is over and bugs are stabilized, I’ll likely add a few sample characters I’ve made or will make, such as a Half-Elf AA Monkcher and my Ninja Assassin. Stay tuned.

  5. FuzzyDuck81
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:30:06

    The 10/epic DR i’m pretty sure is a granted feat so pure monks will get it regardless.

    Having said that, I actually LR’ed a dragonmarked halfling monk into a monk17/2ranger/1cleric who’s a lot of fun – with the high positive spellpower from the DWS line, empower healing feat & extra effects from the healing ki finisher he can give a surprising amount of support.

    • teachersyn
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:41:47

      Just recalled what that granted feat was. Perfect Self. I’ve been considering an Elf with AA and Displacement as a new Ninja myself. That pointy-eared bastard would be quite the sneaking type with stronger miss-chance. I really have to get a grip on how spell power works, as Henshins get a lot of it, using ki as spell points in a sense. Thanks, Fuzzy.

      • FuzzyDuck81
        Aug 30, 2013 @ 05:51:52

        The key points:
        – 1 spellpower is a 1% boost to the base dice of whatever the ability does.
        – There are different types of spellpower which apply to different things (positive for healing effects, force for force & untyped damage etc).
        – Universal spellpower (potency) on *items* won’t stack with specific types of spellpower from items, but the highest will apply eg. for an item with devotion 120 & potency 80, all spellpower types will get the +80 except for positive, which will be overridden by the 120.
        – *Abilities* which grant universal spellpower WILL stack with the others though.
        – Maximise spell is +150 stacking universal spellpower (for spells & abilities that it can apply to)
        – Empower spell is +75, applied as above
        – Empower healing is +75 & only ever boosts positive spellpower, but can be applied to certain abilities like the Heal spell & rejuvenation cocoon which the regular empower or maximise spell can’t be applied to.
        – If a spell (or spell like ability, or certain henshin abilities, 3xfire finisher etc) does multiple damage types the highest spellpower that can apply to it will take priority, eg. meteor swarm spell does fire & physical damage so the highest of either of those spellpowers will apply to it.

        Haven’t really played with the henshin core hadoukens etc. yet, as I haven’t gotten round to rebuilding that character, but judging by the way that tree grants fire & force spellpower those ki-powered spell-type abilities will be boosted by it, so having at least a potency item if not specific-element spellpower gear will make a noticeable difference to their power – devotion definitely boosts the 3xlight healing ki finisher though & always has.

        • teachersyn
          Aug 30, 2013 @ 08:13:06

          Thanks for the mini-tutorial. I’ve used Devotion spell power items before so if I follow that principle to other elements based on your advice, I should be good. Thanks again.

  6. geoffhanna
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 13:12:23

    Nothing says “I love you” like mass deleveling your entire party

    • teachersyn
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:44:26

      The party would certainly love me back by figuring out a way to have a mob immobilize and kill me. Repeatedly. Oh, well. I can get revenge for the S.O.B. that drank a Potion of Wonder after a raid one day and its det-pack effect blew up the whole party. Good times…

  7. Stanmusial
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 21:46:28

    So I am guessing Every Light Casts a Shadow shouldn’t neg level your own party or is this the new grease?

    • teachersyn
      Sep 03, 2013 @ 09:26:40

      Good question, since the mass neg-level effect is like that of the Ninja Spy’s Wave of Despair, which is certainly bugged on PC party members (not NPCs like hirelings, as I’ve tested). Haven’t heard anything about that one yet and not yet able to test since I’ve got my Henshin only to 14 at the moment and my AP is almost there. Will let you know if I hear anything.

  8. Kavatch2.0
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 09:45:38

    ELCS is weird for me personally it seems to have a 50/50 chance of neg lvling my party within a 10-15 foot radius and then it only deals 1 neg lvl to them and not the 1d2 that monsters get (tested this last night on some raids).
    /signed Angry Dragons for the troll

