A Monastic Video Showcase

Please stand by.

Please stand by.

After posting videos demonstrating the Heroic level and Epic Shiradi Shuricannon, I was reminded of times where differing opinions at least or flame wars at most occur on the DDO forums on what build or what class(es) and abilities will do this and that.

One thread long ago on the Henshin Mystic turned that way but it caught my ire because the dissenting poster, all the while stating that unarmed damage beats quarterstaff damage, also admitted to having not played a Mystic.

Now, I don’t claim in the slightest to creating or possessing characters that are the optimal for anything except for how I like to play. But my Monks don’t suck outright and do a good job of the one thing they’re meant to do: complete a quest or raid.

But I took offense to that poster because it was clear that their min-maxing multiclassing worldview completely dismissed the idea that something else could possibly work. I’m used to this with the Henshin Mystic. As I’ve said in past posts, I’m likely the only comprehensive resource so far (here and in The Book of Syncletica) on defining the Henshin Mystic class based on its enhancement tree, given it’s only been around for yet quite a year.

Rather than get into a debate of words, I realized I have to apply a social truism: “Pictures or it didn’t happen.”

So I’ll add some moving pictures–they’ll be worth hundreds of thousands of words.

Over the next few weeks I’ll add demonstration videos of the pure Ninja Spy, Henshin Mystic and Shintao Monk, each showing my interpretation of each class’s gameplay. Doing this also exposes my personal style, which you may or may not like.

I’ll choose a quest that illustrates their specialities. For a Shintao, it’ll be a brawling quest where undead, aberrations and extraplanar creatures roost. For a Ninja Spy, it may be a quest where a singular objective requires stealth, cunning and tactics to complete. Lastly, it will be Quintessica that will show what I think the developers had in mind, based on the class tree, of what a Mystic can do with a quarterstaff and their mystical ki powers.

Class trees are simply a launching point for players. There’s no point whatsoever in making a Mystic or any other class using only the racial tree and abilities from only one class tree. A Mystic or Shintao that adds in Shadow Veil for incorporeality miss-chance is going to stand a pounding better, as well as a Ninja Spy that adds in abilities from other trees to improve its attack or defense. None of my characters use only the abilities of their class tree.

That said, the purpose of the demo videos is to help new players decide what playstyle they might consider based on the class tree’s innate skills. It never means that a Shintao can’t use a bow or a Ninja Spy can’t use a staff or a Mystic not use handwraps. Versatility is important. However, effectiveness based on your skills makes sense economically for the action points you spend.

Most importantly, the videos can show what the class does flat out–a good illustrative video for players new to the Monk (the exact purpose of the Monk guide). Shintao Monks are self-healing stun-bot goddesses that are hard to kill. Ninja Spies can avoid half of an army to assassinate with deft blade work or unarmed fighting with a deadly skill set. And a Mystic can take on mobs like Neo takes on an army of Agent Smiths using a metal staff.

So, coming soon, I’ll finally make that video of Mystic Quintessica doing her “Burly Brawl.” Later, Lynncletica, the “Little Mountain” will go where Archons fear to tread, perhaps against an army of devils. Lastly, Kiricletica can represent the Ninja Spies somewhere.

If possible, these movies will get linked into their respective chapters in the Monk guide.

Much later, I’ll give the same treatment to the Elven Arcane Archer Monk and a Kensei Fighter I’m working on.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mernom
    Apr 25, 2014 @ 05:13:39

    Is that fighter that wf you were talking About?

    • teachersyn
      Apr 25, 2014 @ 06:40:53

      It’s another half-elf. I do have a WF dark Mystic but it’s been idled until I gear it or retrain it. WF suck in a few ways I didn’t plan.

      • FuzzyDuck81
        Apr 25, 2014 @ 09:47:37

        I wouldn’t say suck, so much as just “have certain limitations” 🙂 The docent for the Eveningstar set isn’t as good as the spider spun caparison, but there are some other alternatives.. wisdom penalty can hurt a bit but isn’t all that bad, it’s the healing penalty reducing effectiveness of FoL & healing ki that makes the biggest impact IMO. I have a bladeforged ninja though (LR’ed the initial paladin level out) & it’s pretty effective, but then they get self-healing through the reconstruct clicky (I always take the magical training feat if the character has no blue bar otherwise).

        • teachersyn
          Apr 25, 2014 @ 10:02:03

          I really, really want to like the Warforged. I even gave her a great name: “Synthetica.” I’d hate to delete it just on the name alone. So perhaps I’ll retool it from Mystic to Shintao since it really needs some help in healing. But I have two normal Shintaos already so I should look to giving it a new “flavor.’

        • Kavatch3.0
          Apr 27, 2014 @ 16:44:15

          Good man

  2. erdrique
    Apr 25, 2014 @ 10:20:06

    Looking forward to seeing the vids!! 🙂

  3. Kavatch3.0
    Apr 27, 2014 @ 16:42:29

    As far as dmg comparisons between unarmed, quarterstaff, shuriken and shortswords go you really have to look at everything that is effected by weapon choice. With single target dmg unarmed fighting is probably slightly better with sf and tod, especially pre epic destines. Quarterstaves give larger crowd dmg, Crit dmg and fotw synergizes really well with it (epic staffs so freakin good). Shuriken builds give distance safety and respectable dps/reflex saves. lastly there are shortswords and i can’t really say much on them because i rarely use any outside of celestia (breaking babies dr dreams since 2012) because i like kamas crit profile a bit more in ninja spy. Sadly there is a lack of named epic kamas in the game so ill be going shortswords till I get to the promised land of thunderholm. To sum up its really just about playing to the strengths of your kits playstyle, I like playing an unarmed earth shintao because i get to be the eye of the hurricane and thats pretty fekkin sweet to me.

    p.s. I’m really glad you’re doing this I’ve been waiting a while for it.

  4. Trackback: A Simple Zen Archer | The Order of Syncletica
