My Own Private Normandy Landing

Even after 70 years, this scene in history, of storming the deadly beaches near Normandy, remains one of the most incredible witnesses to bravery in World War II.

Even after 70 years, this scene in history, of storming the deadly beaches near Normandy, remains one of the most incredible witnesses to bravery in World War II.

Ever since I heard of one quest getting updated, I’ve been anxious to see it.

Update 22 brings us an Epic version of Three-Barrel Cove. My ninjas have been sharpening their stars at the notion of challenging hordes of pirates.

But there are other nastier pirates, such as the Blood Tide, which have had designs on Stormreach by first emasculating and decapitating the city’s military defensive center, House Deneith.

Of the five quests in the Sentinels of Stormreach chain, one didn’t have an Epic version until now.

Storm the Beaches” not only got an upgrade but changed one aspect that made things interesting.

One of the three objectives is to destroy eight ballistas along the pirate fortress. In the original Heroic version, eliminating these was as easy as targeting any breakable object.

But now, the ballistas fire back with massive area-of-effect damage that will likely kill you in one strike.

Yes, those ballistae you’ve used to shoot down pirate airships in Three-Barrel Cove are now directed at you.

The quest title fits the bill now. You still have three ways to start the quest: Attack the moored pirate ship, use a side trail leading to the fortress’s top, or (as the quest name implies) land on the beaches around the fortress.

If you are spotted, the enemies that guard the ballistas will fire on you with their weapons and the ballistas.

Ever played “Medal of Honor” games, set in WWII? One very memorable scenario puts you as a player character about to land on Omaha Beach, the heaviest and deadliest encounter of the several Allied landfalls of Operation Overlord, on the beaches near Normandy, France. We recently celebrated the 70th anniversary of that landing.

In MoH, the game tried to murder you on Normandy beach. The same words were used by the DDO player that described his experience with the revised quest in the Lammania thread I’ve read.

I normally like the trail pass option, so I tried the spymaster option using Szyncletica the star-thrower ninja.

All was well in sneaking up to the upper level. Knowing what to expect, I began throwing stars at a ballista.

It was down to less than a third of its health when I saw it.

That projectile, tree-trunk sized and shaped like a flaming arrow, approached me head-on. I was mesmerized by how it looked, locked in amazement at the attack’s speed and range.

BAM. And that’s when I died from over 1200 points of bludgeon damage.

A second attempt with Szyncletica fared only slightly better. I had swam from the spymaster drop-off to the moored enemy ship and removed all resistance, and then entered the submerged entrance to remove all enemies inside.

On exiting to the outside at the south entrance, I was spotted and I heard a ballista activate. I hurried back in, expecting to have the ballista lose its target lock on me.

I came back out through the watery entrance and began a swim on the outskirts of the western edge of the map, stealthy and invisible.

BAM. Lesson #2: Ballistae never lose their target lock, even if you enter into the fortress. Stealth does no good. I already knew from posts that invisibility was also a wash.

I love this quest, despite failing very badly at it so far. It’s requiring me to really, really think.

And I think that I need to get a party gathered to go into this one.

The biggest challenge is that your own “army” is going to be limited to six. Good luck.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. geoffhanna
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 20:40:41

    Awesome ballistae are awesome. Too bad we can’t bring in some of the charges from Undermine to help deal with them.

  2. James
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 23:19:36

    Question, since it’s aoe does evasion work? Can it miss such as incorporeal or displacement? What about instakill?

    • teachersyn
      Jun 23, 2014 @ 23:57:06

      I know for a fact that Improved Evasion worked like ass. There’s no real save to those things! And as a ninja I had quite a lot of miss-chance effects to boot (20 Blurry/25 Incorporeal/30 Dodge)! They’re constructs, so even if you kill the weapon’s minions, it keeps firing until you or it is destroyed.

  3. Dawnzerly Light
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 01:55:02

    Is their field of fire 360 degrees, or does each one have a “blind spot”?

    • mernom
      Jun 24, 2014 @ 02:34:09

      I belive they should have a blind spot at point blank,don’t take my word for it though.

      • teachersyn
        Jun 24, 2014 @ 08:16:41

        The threads I’ve read suggest this, too. For melees, if they bum-rush the thing AND then attack while moving (strafing), the ballista has to spin to fire. If you can outspin it while attacking, you can do it.

    • teachersyn
      Jun 24, 2014 @ 08:15:29

      From what I experienced, their blind spot is only the limit from where the ballistae “see.” That is, it cannot shoot through solid objects. The one that nailed me in the water didn’t fire until I was squarely in a line of sight. Good thinking; perhaps one can outwit them in this manner.

  4. erdrique
    Jun 24, 2014 @ 09:19:19

    I haven’t had the experience to try this yet and was wondering how the areas with multiple ballistae worked. If you do run up and melee them where two are at, will they both try to shoot you? Or did they space them differently in Epic?

    • teachersyn
      Jun 24, 2014 @ 09:32:05

      They’re in the same locations and arrangement. I don’t know if you can outrun two or three at once. I’m betting no, based on the fact that the Epic 3BC ballistae that you can operate will allow you to target yourself at point-blank range.

