Nailed It: The Mirror of Glamering

I’m busy with a special project that I’ll tell you about very soon. So this is a very short post.

In my quasi-daily DDO news scan, some notes about Update 23’s changes came up from Sir Geoff of Hanna and over at Tactalicious & Craftalicious.

I’ve been hoping for more attack animations and have stated so recently. But one wish came true from all that.

More cosmetic armor. How much? As much as you want, it seems, thanks to an upcoming item called the Mirror of Glamering.

Think of it as a cloning tool, a photocopier if you will, of any armor or helm appearance in the game. We’ve got a whiff of this with the Ninja Outfit, a cosmetic copy of the Spider-Spun Caparison.

Now you can look as uber as you think you are.

Now, please Turbine, make it both a very rare drop but easily purchaseable (and tradeable) on the DDO Store. Give it a high TP. People will buy it. Trust me. Make some bucks to keep making us game content.

Don’t stop there, however! Add more new appearances based on class. “Tactalicious” asked for samurai armor (Kensei!). We’ve got ninja, so let’s try out those different attack animations? Yes? Maybe?

And thanks!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. geoffhanna
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 06:35:29

    I’d like a gleaming suit of Renaissance-era plate mail. The head-to-toe stuff that you see in Excalibur and so forth.

    And some all-black leather armor.

  2. mernom
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 08:21:27

    the final mirror is intended to copy weapons,shields,runearms and orbs as well,as stated in the dev lammania vid.

  3. Lightning
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 11:30:38

    I can picture dozens of clerics running around in a permanent “Cellimas” armor now.

    I can also picture dozens of swashbucklers running around with the Sword of Shadows as a cosmetic. >.> Okay, so I doubt they’ll have two-handed weapons on one-handed, but I can dream, right?

    In all seriousness though, it’s about time. Unfortunately, I can see purchasing said glamer being a ways away. I am wondering if this will eventually be used to implement a dye system. Honestly, being the light armor fan that I am, it’d be nice if they had, well… nicer light armor. Think the only one I’m a real big fan of is the Shadow Dragonhide. Just wish it had more of a say… black and silver theme to it.

    • FuzzyDuck81
      Sep 05, 2014 @ 15:57:18

      yeah it’s basically got to have the same animation set, so pretty much any 1-hander is interchangeable cosmetic vs. actual, but staffs have to have a staff cosmetic etc. Still, very nice, give a good longsword or bastard sword skin to a ninja, plus a nice brigandine or halfplate set (elocator’s habiliment from mindsunder!) for the cosmetic & the appropriate helm too, and you’ve got your samurai 🙂

      • Lightning
        Sep 06, 2014 @ 21:46:04

        I was just thinking that. Giving some Bastard Sword skin to the Kiricletica would certainly help the Kirito aesthetic.

        My problem thus far is that I don’t really like the looks of most equipment. Maybe I’ll find something. I’m sure the Mirror will be expensive in TP too, so I may not really be able to get them anytime soon anyway.

  4. EvenNote
    Sep 05, 2014 @ 15:12:49

    This is one of the things I’m most looking forward to in U23. My bard’s always wanted to wear Elocator’s Habiliment, but she doesn’t have medium armor proficiency.

  5. mernom
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 15:59:37

    btw went to another run to lammania,to check the new tree for fighters,the vanguard.
    and lemme tell you,i FINNALY understand how heatcliff wiped the floor with kirito on their 2nd battle.i just rolled a generic char with the equipment from the epic necro and dwarf raids,and he’s sitting at ~270 prr.
    next i grab some healing abilities,and his hp bar hardly budges now,and his attack speed rivals that of swashbucklers.
    they get attack speed bonus when wearing shields,so next imagin their speed with full swf and swash shield style…about 45% unbuffed

    • teachersyn
      Sep 08, 2014 @ 16:42:34

      You’re tempting me to roll up a “Heathcliff” style paladin with Vanguard. Just read that write-up. It’s pretty stellar. Looking forward to seeing these in action.

  6. DDOCentral
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 03:16:26

    Reblogged this on DDOCentral.

