Szyncletica: Shroud Beater

It’s my first major accomplishment. Szyncletica, now a capped Epic Shiradi Shuricannon, defeated the Shroud on her own on a quiet Sunday morning.

Wasn’t easy.

Part 1

I had two attempts here. The first aborted at part 1 when I missed a second portal keeper that appeared.

I learned an important strategy: Portal Keepers are bound to appear if you’re slow at the portals, solo or not.

The key is to simply target and kill the keeper and then continue on with your work. Know the portal manifestation order and check all the portals.

If you hear a second warning after you’ve thought you’ve killed any keepers, you missed one and have less than a minute to rectify your mistake.

I took that knowledge into my second attempt and was able to beat part 1 without significant issue.

Part 2

I had a terrible group of lieutenants, about as annoying as a solo runner can get I had Kasquick, the troll, the lion and the fire elemental. The last two lieutenants are stupid fast in their ghosts returning to the center. I know from study that other solo runners have abandoned their run if they’d got such an over-speedy group. But I’m fast, too. I gave it a go.

After I killed off Kasquick near the southwestern tree and began working on the others, I noticed how much time had gone past before Kasquick had returned to life. On killing fire, I watched him get stuck within a corner, staying there for almost 3 minutes before the game AI forced him to the center to revive.

I tried to take advantage of that spawn slowness and the fact that this was a maze. The best place to slay them is near and just north of the southwestern recharge tree. The lieutenants have a tendency to get stuck or meander slower to the center and their respawn point. I needed that time; the lion was extremely fast in running back to the center, faster than the elemental.

With a series of timed beatdowns and some lucky procs from my Celestial sword’s passive explosions of fire and light, the lieutenants fell, the crystal eliminated and now, on to the dreaded part 3.

Part 3

This time, I thought of another idea to conquer this place, where the Prismatic Wall had taken me twice already.

I zoomed through the area, smashing as many crystals above the doors as fast as I could before I opened up the central fountain, retreated and waited.

I knew now that eliminating door crystals brought the Wall up faster. I wanted to wait to start any water runs until the Wall spawned so it wouldn’t spawn atop me.

Celebratory cannonballs in Part 3's regenerating pond.

Celebratory cannonballs in Part 3’s regenerating pond.

Finally it appeared. I began a careful series of runs out, always following far behind the Wall as I did my work, filling only one fountain and removing crystals as I retreated back to the center where the Wall does not travel.

I waited for the Wall to pass by my fountain door on its clockwise path, then sprinted out counter-clockwise to do what I could do.

It took about 30 minutes, but patience won, and I left part 2 with two chests and victory.

Now to go where few others have gone.

Part 4

I thought to myself that Part 1 and 2 were the most difficult because they had a time element. That was only partly correct. Part 1 is timed only once a portal keeper appeared. Part 2 isn’t timed at all except in the fine window you have while all lieutenants are down and the race to destroy their respawning crystal. It’s part 3 that requires the greatest timing.

One Ninja Drow, one battle.

One Ninja Drow, one battle.

Now, it was just a matter of combat. A matter of outlasting my enemies.

The Whirling Blades are a nuisance but not very dangerous on Normal. My thoughts in this first encounter with Arraetrikos involved one important factor: Beating his regenerative factor.

As Klorox the Barbarian showed, it was a matter of damaging Harry faster than he regenerated.

I kicked up my defenses, drank a DDO store elixir and a Yugoloth potion, and got to work.

Taking out the trash was easy enough, and then Harry arrived.

We meet at last, pit fiend.

We meet at last, pit fiend.

The Thunder-Forged Shuriken with its tier 1 upgrade did its work. I pulled 1/5th of his HP away on round 1.

Each time the pit fiend disappeared, I went into Sneak to boost my passive ki regeneration and used Wholeness of Body to recharge my HP to full.

Staying hidden also left me hidden from the devil spawns, allowing me to take my time in regenerating ki and waiting for my Eternal Potion of Death Ward to recharge.

The gnolls that arrived to recharge Harry fell very, very quickly each round to vorpalling stars and were never a factor.

Harry and I fought on. After 5 rounds or so, the beast fell.

Part 5

As ready for the final fight as I'd ever be.

As ready for the final fight as I’d ever be.

I waited at the part 4 altar to regenerate my ki to maximum and clear the cooldown on my Eternal potion.

The strategy here was similar to part 4, although I realized that I’d have a hell of a time separating the speedy revived lieutenants.

And just before I entered, I decided to buy some +20 Jump potions from the DDO Store.

It took a bit to slay the lieutenants.

Then Harry materialized once more.

Bet most of you have never seen this view of part 5 before, high above.

Bet most of you have never seen this view of part 5 before, high above.

I drank that Jump potion and leaped atop the center pedestal, running all the way up and was able to stand on the edge of the outside wall of the area. I pelted Harry senseless and with impunity.

After 15 minutes or so, the deed was done.

Another feather in the cap for Firewall’s Shuricannon design, even with a weaker design such as my own.

I give you a video of the last minutes of the battle.

 

And Sir Geoff: By request: the dance of victory.

ScreenShot01379ScreenShot01378

Maybe I found my final inspiration a couple of days ago, after discovering an old DDO thread of a much-earlier Shroud victory by the quintessential Sarlona guild, Caffeine.

Every one in the raid group used only Clubs of the Holy Flame.

Completed years ago, that’s still going to be more badass than anything I have done or can think of doing.

 

 

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ddomicki
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 00:33:14

    🙂 awesome. Congraz.

    Soloing raids takes a lot of patience amd knowledge of the key parts. I think I understand why ppl want to do it, but I lack the patiene 🙂

  2. DDOCentral
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 03:14:06

    Reblogged this on DDOCentral.

  3. JDemonX
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 07:47:16

    Very nice. I tried to solo The Vault of Night, but it didn’t go so well 🙂

    • teachersyn
      Sep 15, 2014 @ 08:24:57

      Thanks! As you certainly learned, VoN is impossible to solo as its mechanics require a lot of people on multiple levers and such. You’re probably joking, of course. I haven’t had my morning coffee to know the difference. 🙂

  4. saekee
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 08:42:18

    nice run! I jumped my monk in for curiosity and could not find the portal keepers. It is as if they were invisible…

    • teachersyn
      Sep 15, 2014 @ 09:12:04

      Keepers are orange-named, always stay close to the portal and have about 10 HP. 🙂 The hard part in killing them is getting past the many guards that spawn with them. Improved Precise Shot is the Honey Badger to this: it doesn’t care and rips through anything between me and the keeper.

  5. EvenNote
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:50:27

    Wow, congratulations! *Awesome* accomplishment! 🙂

    I haven’t tried to solo Shroud since level cap was still 20 (it did not go well, LOL). You’ve inspired me to think about giving it another try.

    Way to go! 🙂

  6. grimorde
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:06:43

    Well done!!

  7. mernom
    Sep 17, 2014 @ 13:41:47

    i never solod it,but i did tons of 2man runs.
    and yes, i DID see the view from above.that spot is quite nice for sniping,but it also bugs arti pot throws.btw,is your passive jump isent high enough?my arti could do it as long as his str item was equipped,i think.

    • teachersyn
      Sep 17, 2014 @ 15:08:05

      To ensure I have enough ki, I stay in Water Stance most of the time, rather than Wind, which would give me more DEX. Adding a quick jump boost was an easier fix while in combat than equipping something that would compromise one thing or another. Jump skill is lower on her than other Monks I have; she’s a cannon more so than an acrobat.

    • Lightning
      Sep 20, 2014 @ 14:30:40

      Do not forget that you can purchase +20 Jump Potions from a collector’s vendor in the Harbor. I believe it’s the Halfling next to the Bank NPC. You need Amber Vials for them.

      • teachersyn
        Sep 21, 2014 @ 13:41:07

        I’ll note that. Will be good to have handy and it’s a great addition to the stealth guide to negate the Sneak jump penalty.

        BTW, in the videos section of the new guide, your note about Stealthy Repo is there and you’re credited.

        • Lightning
          Sep 22, 2014 @ 05:30:26

          Comes in handy without a friendly wizard too!

          And woot! Crappy image and all? lol

  8. Kavatch6.4
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 11:05:59

    The fist time I soloed shroud was with a light monk using epicE thunder&lightning and I thought that I had cleared it pretty quickly for a solo run ( it was something like 40 min). And then the thunder forge came out and I’ve cleared it in 29 min. Dem weps op. (I’m also 4 levels higher than I was back then and I have much better gear and feats but mostly I think it’s the wraps).

  9. erdrique
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 11:39:14

    Congrats indeed!! Definitely a strong accomplishment there :).

  10. Trackback: Full Encounter Control | The Order of Syncletica
  11. Tholgrin
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 19:11:36

    Your success here is what convinced me I should give doing it a shot, alone. It’s gone… well, let’s just say “attempts were made.” Massive props on dusting the Fire Elemental in Phase Two, though! She totally left me in her rear-view mirror. One of these days I’ll get a nagging in my brain to attempt it again.. although, it might help if I’d ever done it (period) before! ^_^

    #certifiablywhackadoo #yesiknowhashtagsdontworkonwordpress

  12. Trackback: Drow Kunoichi: Ryncletica Resharpened | The Order of Syncletica
  13. Trackback: The Undesirables: Quests I May Never Complete | The Order of Syncletica
  14. Trackback: The Poison Master In-Depth | The Order of Syncletica
