Guru Meditation

My real-life self is traveling this week, sans any access to Update 23 or a computer capable of playing it.

So far, no dramatic withdrawal symptoms. It helped that I got to visit the National Air and Space Museum every day. :squee:

See you next week. I’ll certainly be examining the effects on my active Monks with inaugural Melee Power, Magic Power and defensive changes added with the new update.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Saekee
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 22:44:47

    Best part: the Venomed blades toggle (as I found, also Drow venomed blades) stacks with melee power. Between Sting of the Ninja and high melee power, I was seeing over 50+ damage per hit from the venomed blades! (That is not counting the DOT from Sting) Ninjas just got a huge boost. Also, LD doesn’t require the annoying build up of cleaves so even without them, one can run a Dex-based ninja in LD just fine!

    I plan to TR Saekee shortly into an Ultimate Stealth multiclass build to run tests on the guide stuff. (9 monk 6 wiz 5 rogue max dex, based on Jakeelala’s meteor shower variants but as a melee. Should do gimp damage but awesome stealth and defenses.)

    • teachersyn
      Oct 03, 2014 @ 13:41:58

      Excellent to hear. I plan to add back some Sneak Attack into Kiricletica to add to the nastiness boosts. I’m psyched to play my Assassin.

  2. mernom
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 07:36:42

    apperantly venomed blades still negates sneak atk though…
    but they also killed the login lag,which is great news for me.
    other then that,there’s the new harper tree(which is p2p)
    the basic PRR changes(mainly for armor guys,but my fighter had almost 20% dr with only about 30 prr)
    and the SWF\2HF\Shield experties changes,which balances the 3 styles a little.
    also,stalvart defender\sacred defender can now use only heavy armor OR shields,so they work with 2wf\2hf\swf now.
    y can now reposiin our enhancment tres by draggin them around(click and hd the tree icon)
    hirelings caan have their actions edited(you can have clr\fvs hires stip usin their light spell attack,and also it seems that the healing they do when out of sp is from a wand,judging by the commands they have)

    • teachersyn
      Oct 03, 2014 @ 13:43:59

      Taming the crazed hireling with the new controls is also on my list. I’ve decided to steer clear of Venomed Blades; just too buggy and there are plenty of ways to use poison as a ninja, and the Assassin hardly needs it.

  3. geoffhanna
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 08:07:55

    So so so … what was your favorite part of the Air & Space Museum? Mine was the part where they have just a portion of the engine flaring bell from the Saturn 5 and even that tiny percent of the rocket is SO FREAKING HUGE.

    But then, you’re not going to the moon on just any old rocket now, are you?

    • teachersyn
      Oct 03, 2014 @ 13:38:18

      Damn skippy on the F5 engines. What’s better: Seeing a full Saturn V with all bells at the KSC Visitors Center. That thing still floored me and I was prepared. This new Orion thing is a complete poser compared to the majesty of the Saturns. SpaceX has the cooler rockets now, especially when they start landing back their boosters for re-use!

      My favorite part now is LM-spotting. LM 2, scheduled to fly unmanned but was cancelled when the first LM test went off well, sits in NASM. They put a camera you can move inside the cabin to look around. Was fun to spot the auto-pilot, a life-support unit in pieces, and a missing DSKY (computer). Sim-Neil and Buzz aren’t coming home on that one. Took a buttload of photos for my ongoing scale model details. I also saw LM 6, scheduled for Apollo 15 before they got their ride pimped for the moon buggy. But I also love love love looking into the rides of Apollo 11, Gemini 4 (first space walk) and Gleen’s Mercury. I could gush on and on…and I didn’t have time to go to their 2nd museum where Shuttle Discovery sits.

