The Frozen Dojo

Just a quick update that my real-life work and the bitter cold in the area where I live is going to likely trash an opportunity to post about several happenings this week and possibly the next. But when I do, look for things such as

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DDOCentral
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 08:40:52

    Reblogged this on DDOCentral.

  2. Lightning
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 21:21:58

    Synthetica is a great name.

    On a side note, I was going through some of your Szyncletica posts to pick up a few notes since I’ll running a quick run through a Shuriken thrower (Halfling instead of Drow, however), and I was curious.

    Just what is the use of the offhand weapons? Is there a benefit to having something there? Or is it just for augments? (Such as a Luck Blade being used as a cheap +X skill slot, a Heavy Fortification or perhaps a Gift of the Master?)

    • teachersyn
      Jan 12, 2015 @ 10:18:21

      A few effects from the off-hand weapon add to the throwing weapon, but not many. Seeker and Tendon Slice are general effects. The most prized are two or three effects from the Celestia shortsword, which blow tremendous light and fire AoE damage. If you could find a weapon that accepted a Blue augment gem for fortification, sure, that would work too.

      Firewall has updated the Shuricannon for a less tankish role and more damage.
      https://www.ddo.com/forums/showthread.php/452990-Shuricannon-2-0?p=5491463#post5491463

      • Lightning
        Jan 12, 2015 @ 11:54:38

        I did see the updated one. However, I’ve not exactly been looking at my Shuriken Tosser as a tank, and more of a kiter. Oh well.

        As for the offhand, thanks for that. I keep seeing people wielding these things with their throwers, and I’ve never been able to figure it out. Figured I’d ask this time since I was running around on it.

        Before I forget, do you disable commenting on various posts once they get so old? Or is that something that’s set up by default? Otherwise I would have asked on one of Syzn’s posts instead of this one.

        • teachersyn
          Jan 12, 2015 @ 12:33:48

          The ‘Cannon tanks *by* kiting very very well. The DPS is so harsh that enemies never ignore her.

          Yes, due to recurring spam attacks, I’ve set comments to be disabled after a reasonable time.

  3. Zweisteine
    Jan 14, 2015 @ 16:17:18

    A few things:

    1. What kind of advice would you give to a new monk player starting at level 4? At level 1? As an iconic?
    Every time I make a monk, I end up getting either weak, bored, or dead, and I don’t know what to do about it.

    2. You know what would be awesome? Bard/monk.

    3. Are you able to mess with the blog’s HTML?
    If you can, I have this recommendation:
    Go into the HTML for the search bar, and replace (( value=”Search…” )) with (( placeholder=”Search…” )). It gets annoying that the default text in that box doesn’t go away when I start typing my search.

    • teachersyn
      Jan 15, 2015 @ 07:12:18

      1. How you’d start your Monk is most dependent on your plan for its life. Do you want a resilient pugilist, an unarmed stunning fighter? Then Shintao is your tree, with emphasis on STR for damage, WIS for Stunning Fist DC and ki, and CON for HP. Human is safest bet for healing amp, Heroism and boosts, but Half-Orc and Warforged are OK, too. Elven races are weaker physically but can make powerful scouts and shortsword fighters and make great ninjas. Race plays a major factor in your path. Most players are all HULK SMASH about gameplay. DDO can be more than having the high slayer count.

      2. True, but as Monks must be Lawful, multiclassing Bard or Barbarian is impossible. You can, however, add the Fatespinner ED as an Epic character for some common Bard buffs as a pure Monk.

      3. I generally leave the stock HTML of this blog alone to the hosts and theme, but I’ll look into that simple change. It annoys me a little, too.

      • Zweisteine
        Jan 15, 2015 @ 20:43:00

        Would warforged work for a monk? The wisdom penalty would hurt, but everything else…
        And if I start as an iconic, which would be best? Morninglord is presumable worst, and Shadar-Kai doesn’t get much but skills, but the other two seem to have more benefits.

        And how fun/hard to play is a thrower build?

        • Lightning
          Jan 16, 2015 @ 15:17:04

          My thrower is fun, but it takes a bit of learning in some parts. Throwing things to hit static targets is a hit and miss thing for some people. Mine is a second life, but she started her second life as a thrower with pretty much a Shadow Star, Jidz-Tet’ka and a medium fortification slotted into a robe. Of course, the Master’s set.

          Finally upgraded to a Snow Star, and is doing well enough, though.

          As for an Iconic, the PDK would help with granting a few feats, and the Bladeforged would help with saves and a bit of self-healing through the Racial tree. Other than that, not sure how either would help, as I avoid splashing classes.

          Warforged get racial enhancements for tactical feats, so that should help ease up the burden from Stunning Fist DCs from the lower base Wisdom.

          Some monks I’ve seen just go outright damage and drop wisdom. simply adding whatever they can get to their Wisdom to for AC. Just a thought.

        • teachersyn
          Jan 16, 2015 @ 15:36:28

          Warforged have some advantages, particularly immunities to negative energy, but its big disadvantage is healing amplification. My only WF is “Synthetica.” Haven’t played her much but I’m not rerolling her–I love the name.

          How much fun is a thrower? Seen any of my videos? I tanked a dragon in “Fire on Thunderpeak” and soloed a Shroud with one. Try my YouTube channel for a few. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkU-4mtgnmj5tX4Y3JexkcQ

          • Lightning
            Jan 18, 2015 @ 09:13:51

            I recently checked out your video for your run of Spies in the House, as I was going to be running it myself. Every group I ran with before ended up with brutal deaths along that electric floor. Ouch. Figured I’d look into it first.

            In any case, I noticed you using the paralyzing finisher… While in stealth. I have no idea why that never occurred to me before. I usually just try to run past everything without getting into combat, so whenever I actually do get into combat, I was usually seen, so thrown out of stealth anyway. Or just used Quivering Palm if I felt my DC sufficiently high enough.

            This might be something to try on my next life before going Rogue. I’ve been wanting to test the SWF on monk anyway. 😛

            • teachersyn
              Jan 18, 2015 @ 12:26:02

              The dark finishers are highly underestimated. Yep, charge it up in stealth, sneak in and apply. If the target can’t be paralyzed, I mute it so it can’t cast spells or attack. If I can’t do that, I blind it. If I can’t do any of these things, it’s likely a boss, and I poison it.

              Quivering Palm is excellent for a quick kill with a solitary sentry, or even in battle. I prefer with a ninja to control the fight by neutralizing everybody, preferably before they can even see me.

              • Lightning
                Jan 18, 2015 @ 19:05:53

                I had a lot of trouble trying to pull off the poisons in my last attempt with playing a ninja. I did a lot of grouping either way, so stealth play got put on the back burner unless I needed it to retrieve a stone from a party member or if I was left alone to do something (such as an objective) away from the rest of the party.

                Maybe in her next life, she will acquire some more stealth experience, and some fun with the Dark Finishers. I still haven’t really done much with it, but am surprised by how easily I managed to finish Spies in the House, even if it was on Hard difficulty.

                That said, are you still enjoying the SWF with monk / rogue? I know you plan on talking about them again eventually, but do they make you miss the TWF? Or does the SWF hold well on it’s own?

                • teachersyn
                  Jan 21, 2015 @ 16:12:38

                  I don’t have a Monk/Rogue, only a SWF ninja. I like it. Her attack speed is great and will improve DPS with No Mercy training later. SWF isn’t bad at all, but I can see the advantages of TWF, particularly with application of effects from the weapons as opposed to one. Off-hand attacks in TWF are also there.

              • Lightning
                Jan 21, 2015 @ 21:11:13

                Well, when I said Monk / Rogue, I was referring to Kiri and Suki respectively, as last I checked, they’re both SWF? At least from the videos I recall reading.

                I was still planning on running SWF, but as SWF’ing rogues are practically unheard of, I was hoping it’s at least running well.

                And heh, I just saw your Ranger hop off. But I’m off to run my testing Rogue for now before I actually jump ship into TRing my monk into one in a couple more lives.

                • teachersyn
                  Jan 22, 2015 @ 08:40:02

                  SWF is awesome with a Rogue because of their Sneak Attack damage. When time allows, I’ll get everyone caught up on that Rogue. Same for Kiri. My altitis has caught up to real life and time is at a premium.

                  It’s a guilty pleasure to be playing Artemistika as much, but then she’s got more firepower than I’ve seen on any character with her bow and it’s a blast.

      • Vladrich
        Jan 17, 2015 @ 18:41:24

        I totally agree with teachersyn when they say that what you plan to do with your monk determines how you design your toon. I’m finishing up my first life on my long running monk, running a handful of quests daily to get ready for my second life as a henshin staff-wielding monk with the Fury of the Wild epic destiny, so I’m going to focus a bit more equally on both wisdom and strength than I did on my first life where I sought more of a balance as I learned the class. I have learned a few things soloing that will affect my reincarnation and have influenced my other non-monk toons.
        1) Never discount sneaking past your foes: killing everything might be fun but a horde can quickly wear you down. I agree that Hulk-Smash might be fun, but I’m a convert to the sneak school of getting through adventures.
        2) Assassinate: When you have to kill, make sure that your final target is at a major disadvantage. If you can peel away some of the target’s allies before the main fight and kill them quickly, then that’s less that can go wrong when you decide to kill the main target.
        3) It’s not called cheating if no one is left alive to complain: More than a few times I’ll use the Ninja Spy Diversion to pop a dummy in a boss chamber to distract the mooks as pull their boss away to a secluded spot and kill it (example: “The House of Broken Chains” final fight). Learning the quests and understand how to trigger success in the most efficient way possible can mean the difference between success and failure depending on your particular build.

        Anyways, back to finishing a few projects before I reincarnate tonight with a stealthy stick-wielding monk.

        • teachersyn
          Jan 18, 2015 @ 12:22:50

          Not much to add there other than, “excellent.”

          • Vladrich
            Jan 20, 2015 @ 21:04:51

            With seven levels into my Roosevelt build (walk softly and carry a large stick) I’ve made a few observations transitioning from my first life.
            1) I REALLY miss Stunning Fist. I have Stunning Blow, but it isn’t the same.
            2) I need to remember to quit jumping off every cliff that I see without slipping on my ring of featherfalling. The fall isn’t bad, but those landings hurt.
            3) Now that I’m running into champions as I run through quests on Hard difficulties I’m finding stealth at low levels a lot tougher than it used to be.
            4) I got used to moving in and out of combat during my first life while unarmed fighting, but against large groups funneling the horde through an open door limits the number of attackers against me while devastating my opponents. I used this technique quite often in my first life, but it’s even better with a two-handed staff.

            • mernom
              Jan 23, 2015 @ 04:42:50

              ATM,champs no longer spawn below lvl 8 ( or 6?..)
              so that should help

              • Zweisteine
                Jan 24, 2015 @ 14:50:12

                It’s level 5. No champs unless the effective quest level is 5 or higher.

              • Vladrich
                Jan 24, 2015 @ 14:53:26

                DDOwiki says level 5, which I find is true. Unfortunately as I creep towards level 8 my stealth just doesn’t seem up to snuff compared to my first life as a Ninja-Spy (not surprising, but I miss it). I may redistribute my enhancements later today to take a bit more advantage of healing amp since I’m running around with some crafted lesser vamp staves (one is flaming and the other is icy and switched up depending on the foe).
                I did notice something strange in the Halls of Insanity mission when my Devout Handwraps weren’t ignoring the wraith’s incorporeal miss chance (I haven’t crafted a dedicated undead beater yet). I survived but took a lot more damage than I care to when fighting bosses.

                • teachersyn
                  Jan 24, 2015 @ 20:32:09

                  Neither Devout or Devotion wraps have Ghost Touch but the Eternal Rest wraps do.

                  • Vladrich
                    Jan 26, 2015 @ 14:04:54

                    Why did I say Devout, I’ve never gotten the adventure pack that drops them; I meant Eternal Rest from the Catacombs. My set of Eternal Rest are from before the red-augment slot was added, so could the pre-updated item item have been broken and I just didn’t realize it until now? I had been running around with a Ghostly items for quite a while before I reincarnated, so my set of Eternal Rest has been sitting in the bank for about two years.

                    • teachersyn
                      Jan 26, 2015 @ 14:11:53

                      The cool part about having Devotion from Delera’s or Eternal Rest wraps is that you’re one augment gem from making them Harry Beaters (Silver+Good) for the Shroud or against any Pit Fiend/Horned Devil. Just add a Good gem in the Eternal Rest or a Silvered Strikes gem in the Devotion. Both gems are ML12 but that’s SO much better than the old days before Cannith Craftiing when you just couldn’t get Metalline wraps without selling your soul.

                      Note that the Eternal Rest wraps you have are outmoded. The new ones have that Red slot, and old ones weren’t retroactively upgraded. But keep the old pair of that and Devotion: The old ones are still Bound to Account but the upgraded wraps are Bound to Character on Equip.

                    • Vladrich
                      Jan 26, 2015 @ 16:36:10

                      Yeah, I guess I’ll run Catacombs on Elite tonight (it’ll take me all of an hour and let me farm some fame) and see if I can’t get a new pair of Eternal Rest to drop as an end reward. I have the mats to build a new +1 Holy Undead Bane staff to make that run a little easier as I Hulk-Smash my way through it.

