Into Great Silence

Not all Monks know kung-fu. But their robes are spectacular, and, properly aligned, their Deity gives great power. (Thank you and blessings to Mepkin Abbey, S. Carolina)

Not all Monks know kung-fu. But their robes are spectacular, and, properly aligned, their Deity gives great power. (Thank you and blessings to Mepkin Abbey, S. Carolina)

Enlightenment within the confines of DDO for my Monks is a pleasant story. But it’s only a story.

There’s enlightenment that comes only from the truth found in reality. I’m giving up DDO for Lent.

During this Lenten season, from February 18 through April 5, I’ll be taking a break from DDO itself to devote attention to where genuine attentions are due. Lots of things such as time with my family, a boatload of space models eager to come alive, lots of spring cleaning and even work on some meditation and contemplation to honor my inner monk.

This year marks my 10th anniversary on entering the faith, so I feel obligated to mark the occasion with at least one profound gesture, especially for my wife, who, among Others, puts up with my gaming but deserves more time from me.

While I’m away from the game, I won’t be away from the blog. I’ll be posting from a stockpile of saved stories during these 40-ish days for your reading pleasure. I may also jump on the DDO forums to keep track of news and events and report on it as best I can in the few minutes I might take to do so.

So, look forward in the coming weeks to stories on another insane solo raid idea, Syncletica’s continued vow of poverty trials, Lynncletica’s tanker training, and Misty’s completion of many EDs for Ranger happiness and her first high-level raids.

As my guild’s rules note, “real life comes first.” See you in the Spring.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Poetik
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 01:05:17

    Take care, Syn, and I hope your time away proves fruitful.

  2. saekee
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 07:29:18

    A good choice
    I always put wife and child way ahead of DDO et al and hence why my playtime is so restricted

  3. geoffhanna
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 07:52:09

    How appropriate 🙂

  4. DDOCentral
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 20:29:19

    Reblogged this on DDOCentral.

  5. erdrique
    Mar 01, 2015 @ 16:39:13

    The great balancing act is always important to master!! 🙂

  6. Trackback: Ninja Versus Ninja: A Look Back at Diablo II | The Order of Syncletica
