From Tranquility to Serenity

There is a certain joy you feel in renewal, in repentance that makes you appreciate why you love what you love. This was a transforming time that, at the least, should make me a better person, not to mention a nicer player.

There is a certain joy you feel in renewal, in repentance that makes you appreciate why you love what you love. This was a transforming time that, at the least, should make me a better person, not to mention a nicer player.

I’m back.

Lent taught me that I did play DDO too often.

I wasn’t cold turkey throughout Lent, however, having revived my Diablo II interest.

But at least that game can be paused, and I found greater quality time with my family and faith.

I will likely adopt a new play time schedule so DDO, however fun, doesn’t get the better of me, while still allowing time to continue exploring and enjoying all the happiness. While Lent is now over and Eastertide is here, I loved the wave of comparative tranquility that, while problems didn’t go away with a wave of a wand or something, I was more attuned to respond to them and appreciate what I have.

Looks like a lot’s happened during my exodus. Update 25 is coming today. The Temple of Elemental Evil is near. All the Rogue trees are getting a refresh, especially the Assassins and Mechanics.

I logged in for the first time since February 18 yesterday. When I left, my guild had just hit level 99. Yesterday, my guild sat at level 103–four guild levels in a 5 week span. Holy cow. Something’s up with my guild, and that’s a great thing.

Getting My Ninja On

The first thing I did on login, once reorienting my eyes back to the visual richness of the game (playing a weaker resolution game like Diablo II is bound to make you appreciate even DDO’s slightly aged but superior graphics), I had a definitive urge to take the ninjas out on patrol.

First off the ship was Ryncletica the poison-master for a flagging run in “The Coalescence Chamber.” If there were any signs of rust in my gameplay, I whittled them out quickly as I eliminated the initial troglodyte and troll forces with Althea the fashion-model-turned-Favored Soul.

From there, with Althea parked most of the time except to refresh my Death Ward, I had a very smooth run by sneaking through as much as I could (when the damned bats didn’t show up every 2 seconds) using my shuriken as needed for some distant targets, and generally picking and choosing targets through the end. The only real challenge, bats notwithstanding, was the final key with the gelatinous cube, which is always one big Jello-bowl of HP. But after nailing it using some Ninjutsu, after 20 negative levels it finally melted.

With Ryn’s shadow-lust sated for a time, it was time for Kiricletica the solo-master in “Eyes of Stone” on Hard. Still following her self-imposed solo rules just because they’re still fun and force me to feel the ninja vibe, Kiri quickly restored guards, then used Freezing the Lifeblood finishers on every mage that guarded the Coin Lords for a very quick takedown. Each mage managed to summon their elementals–but then, that’s why the Pain Touch finisher is a godsend, which Nauseated each elemental to prevent them from attacking or casting.

Skipping the troll in the Bureau of Magical Vehicles, I entered the side entrance, restored the last guards and entered Hesstess’s lair. I summoned a fiend-blood troll as fodder and Blurred up the two guards before going to work, striking Hesstess with hit-and-run doses of Ninja Poison using Poisoned Soul Ninjutsu while using ninja speed to avoid her direct stunning magic and stoning gaze. Reinforcements that appeared only made it easier to keep my ki levels high enough to end Hesstess by poison in only 3 minutes or so.

To cap off the first day back, I also took Artemistika out into the epic High Road for some concentrated slayers. I want to pump the XP from 3,000 slayers straight into my Grandmaster of Flowers training so that I can build up another Fate point, unlock the Divine tree and get Unyielding Sentinel and perhaps Divine Crusader pumped up for more Fate points. I’d love to have the Elder Dryad accessible to me for later Epic play, so that means a bit more Destiny grinding, with a +2 Tome of Fate purchase still in reserve.

A New Direction, A New Guild, a New Server

I’m thinking of branching out from my only server, Ghallanda, to start a new guild where stealth is the name of the game. Bards, Rogues, Rangers and Monks would take a new darker tack in defeating the evils. Once Update 25 takes hold, it’s on my to-do list.

If you have a suggestion as to which server to set up camp, feel free to speak up.

I would not mind at all meeting many of you who have visited the blog. And starting up new characters to grow together sounds like a blast.

Perhaps we’ll have a server in common with almost everyone to get all shadowy and stuff. If enough interest appears here and we can coordinate, I’ll revisit it in a later post and set up a public plan.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tholgrin
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 11:21:33

    Welcome back! 😀

  2. LuKaSu
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 11:38:19

    I always look forward to reading new posts on this blog. I also found that taking a break can sometimes refresh the fun. What type of build does your ninja run? Mostly Shortswords, kamas, wraps? More ranged?

    • teachersyn
      Apr 06, 2015 @ 13:32:28

      Shortswords. Weakening Shortswords like the Tiefling Assassin’s Blade and the Vampiric Fury Shortswords. I have Envenomed Blades to magnify Ninja Poison with its own, but often team it up with one of the two other swords to reduce CON/Fortitude for an assured finishing move. For Ryn, being Drow, she throws competently in a pinch with her Shuriken Expertise, but ninja do that throwing generally better. I have one ninja that’s all throwing: Szyncletica. Look her up here in the Search field.

  3. Xahtep
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 12:34:06

    Thelanis

  4. DDOCentral
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 13:05:05

    Reblogged this on DDOCentral.

  5. Saekee
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 16:39:22

    Welcome back! I am on Cannith (just my main–deleted all my alts since I also could not afford too much play time due to RL). It would be fun to run some epic stealth stuff together although we would need to plan well in advance due to my sporadic playtime.

  6. geoffhanna
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 06:42:25

    Welcome back Sir Monk

  7. Trackback: Triumph from the Shadows: Why Stealth Does Work | The Order of Syncletica
  8. Percivaul
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 10:08:49

    Teacher Syn, Thanks for the interesting read . I am interested in your idea of forming a new stealthy guild. My main character is on canith Currently exploring the powers of stealth as a wolf assassin. There is a great deal of versitilty of play in mixing rogue and druid. However I would be happy to stealth game with a group of stealthers on any server. If all interested have shadar kai available we could even begin with some stealth oriented iconics. on a server new to everyone interested.

    • teachersyn
      Apr 08, 2015 @ 10:55:34

      Hey there. So far only a few folks have suggested to visit their server. It may be impractical, although possible, to set up new digs on every server, so perhaps its something where interested parties create a guild and I could create a new character on that server and with that guild to teach the basics and have some fun. Right now, it’s all info-gathering for interest. Thanks for registering your vote, and I hope to set up a game plan with this on a few servers.

      • Mavherik
        Apr 11, 2015 @ 19:55:28

        Good on the change as far as multi-server. I am currently all filled out on Thelanis, and have a dedicated guild with some other people on said server. So pretty much any of them but there would have worked.

        Would have been nice to have everyone on a single guild, though.

  9. Jason Smittenaar
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 13:56:07

    Sarlona. Grnted i wn’t be playing for a few more months still. >.> (A.K.A. until january of next year)

  10. Equatis
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 12:07:06

    Argonnessen server, I’d like to become a student of your stealth techniques and blend them in with my own (Rogue – Assassin). I am guild leader of Rogues of Argonnessen (93), but would be willing TR a character to join a stealth guild for the training and fun involved.

  11. Mari McMimic (@MariMcMillan)
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 09:08:04

    Hello! Allthough my playtime is somewhat limited aswell, and me being in Europe, i have interest in this stealth guild you have in mind.
    My main server is Argo (The Thieves Guild), and i don’t have much room for another char there so i prefer another server. Any is good to go.
    Even if this whole guild concept won’t make it live, i would be interested in a static stealth group.
    I’ll try to remind myself to check back here often to see if there’s any update about this plan. You can also get in touch with me on twitter (@marimcmillan) if needed.
    Love to hear more about this soon!
    Mari

