Kiri and Lots of Elemental Evil

My hands were full throughout this week with a major project and reorienting myself to DDO again. I spent a lot of time working on the rebuilt Pynthetica the Zen Master with very promising results (more on her very soon).

But after the kerfuffle on stealth I made recently, I decided to have some fun with Kiricletica recently to get at least a taste of the newest quest, “The Temple of Elemental Evil.”

toee1

Kiricletica is my strongest stealth-master at level 14, so she’s over-level as she entered on Elite, but rumors told me that such advantages in level weren’t going to matter much.

They were right.

On first glance, the place felt massive, even more so than “Haunted Halls of Eveningstar” and “Thunderholme,” two places I love to explore with stealth characters. After saying hi to the NPC in the center hall, I took the southwest door to the tunnels below.

Every interception and most rooms are just packed–packed!–with orcs and human cultists and more orcs and undead. One wrong move and it’s Dungeon Alert party time, and I would be the hors d’oeuvre.

Being a ninja, Kiri was able to herself invisible, strolling or leaping past the mobs without detection, most of the time.

About a dozen orcs made the fatal mistake to find me, so I moved them to a less obvious section of hallway to dispatch them without making a scene.

toee2a

toee2bI managed to get pretty far inside, eventually finding the Earth Barrier but not yet finding the key or whatever I was looking for. Did find a lockbox with some gilly mushrooms, though.

Deeper in, there are more things out to kill you. Before the server crashed (it’s been having a very hard time these past two weeks, at least the fourth time) and we were all kicked out, I found a spiked trap pit near a gated area.

And lots and lots and lots of lots of orcs.

toee3

I know this place is very, very huge, so I plan to break up any exploration notes into this Temple, writing tips as I go, into bite-size pieces, or video, or something that doesn’t turn posts into chapters from Pilgrim’s Progress or other doorstops.

I hope that I can find each of the elemental keys without a lot of fighting, just to say I could.

And Wil Wheaton did a fine job with the dungeonmaster work.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tholgrin
    Apr 16, 2015 @ 10:59:15

    Socks’ and my first run on Epic for part one alone took over four and a half hours.. And we only covered approximately 85% of the map. Once finding the keys, barriers, and the general route out, it can be cut down to about twenty minutes on a direct run. Part Two is.. more random and a bit of luck, and takes anywhere from 25 minutes (lucky) to forty (unlucky).

    I haven’t done a “total clear” on Part Two… but I will just say that I’ve broken 1,500 (!!!) kills on multiple occasions. Stealth will be a bleeding NIGHTMARE on that one, I imagine.

  2. FuzzyDuck81
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 07:56:05

    The sheer number of mobs you can end up going up against can really be a hindrance, but yeah it’s a fun quest, i’ve been enjoying it a lot. Shame about the drop rate on the mushrooms for upgrading loot, that’s gonna take a lot of grinding.

  3. DDOCentral
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 08:17:36

    Reblogged this on DDOCentral.

  4. Percivaul
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 20:26:38

    I also faced the elite heroic Temple with my super stealth Wolf rogue at level 14 ( 9 druid 5 rogue) . I found his stealth powers challenged in the extreme since he used little invisibility as it requires shape shifting and reshifting to use scrolls.. I generally had to resort to summoning natures ally and sneaking by as the hordes attacked my sacrificial rat.. I did not go for devious bonus however killing each mini boss I found and.looting their chests. There were still hundreds of fanatics that were shown the gentle mercy of nature and not the fangs of a winter wolf assassin. I found myself having to run the part two end fight 3 times and eventually having to bring a hired healer to defeat it however.

    • teachersyn
      Apr 18, 2015 @ 00:30:19

      Good work! Ninja Spy invisibility has one singular advantage in that it’s completely silent in implementing over spells and scrolls. (Potions are best.) Invisibility also would be ineffective there because you’ll get too close to them (if 2 body lengths or less, you’re going to be seen) or if enemies have True Seeing or similar. Being a Druid, you can use Pass Without Trace to boost your Move Silently (the hardest score to boost for non-stealth) that stacks. But try to wear items that up the other scores. A rule of thumb I devised: Your stealth may fail if your Hide or Move Silently score, divided by two, is the same or less than the CR of the enemy. Using diversion/aggro things is still a good tactic.

