Kiri and the Lesser of Two Evils

Completed the first part of “Temple of Elemental Evil” with Kiricletica in her usual solo mode.

I’m keeping things spoiler-free so you can enjoy it’s content.

I wanted to complete it without any hints from the DDO Wiki or anywhere else. Thankfully, it wasn’t very hard to figure out.

I began to understand the mechanics quickly on stumbling over the guards of the first key. After that short fight, I found another Temple key, covered in a force field. Two other Temple keys weren’t too hard to locate, but I realized I had to find a specific place to remove a ward off one Temple key.

Dozens of enemies packed corridors in most inconvenient locations. Most doors would lead you to unoccupied areas, but there was always that one door where you pretty much greeted a mob of 10 or more startled and enraged cultists. Often I threw a Flash Bang and left the scene fast. Flash Bangs saved me several times, including one Red Dungeon Alert where I tumbled into three rooms and a hallway of angered cultists. To remove that DA, I had to go back and hunt those guys down until the DA stopped.

Finding the boss’s lair was straightforward and the boss fight itself wasn’t too hard, after I performed the same trick I used in one temple on one of the four minions. When the wizard decided to come down from his perch, he screwed himself as I pounced on him, applying enough Ninja Poison in him to drop an elephant.

I did use stealth through most of it to avoid a lot of fighting. That was a good thing, because I would be still fighting by the time you read this. Got it done in a bit over 2 hours.

ScreenShot01610

ScreenShot01611

Did I mention I got a Discreet bonus in completing the first temple?

That’s now added to the DDO Wiki as you read this. Still, if killing “only” 133 enemies earns “Discreet,” then how many damned cultists are in this place?

Kiricletica didn’t want to find out.

Next time: Finding out what the “Devious” bonus might be on Part 1, and starting an exploration of Part 2.

Or, taking Szyncletica the star-master inside Part 1 on Epic Normal (it’s also a CR 30 quest).

Oh, when you can find the audio commentaries throughout the quest, do listen in as they quite enjoyable. The reason that Wil Wheaton was happy to be the DM voice was that he’d apparently played ToEE in its original tabletop version, but also speaks, among other subjects, why he enjoyed playing a squishy wizard over some hulking barbarian or fighter as a 98-pound weakling of a kid.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tholgrin
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 11:43:37

    I wasn’t kidding when I said the kill counts can easily break a comma ^_^

    That said – holy CRAP! Congrats on pulling it off! I’ve got my fingers crossed for you in part two 😀

  2. DDOCentral
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 08:25:03

    Reblogged this on DDOCentral.

  3. Tholgrin
    Apr 23, 2015 @ 19:58:03

    As it turns out, I’ve been trying to ghost it with my ranger.. believe it or not, 30 kills is only a Devious bonus. I’m left scratching my head with what’s left to shave off to get Insidious Cunning! (O_o)

    • teachersyn
      Apr 23, 2015 @ 22:18:14

      I would think it’s impossible since there are required kills, right? Did you pull off Devious?! If so, congratz!

      • Tholgrin
        Apr 23, 2015 @ 22:52:14

        I did pull off Devious, but not cleanly. There was a red alert at one point I just had to hunker down and wait out.

        As for required kills, here’s how I see it:

        5 for Earth key (4 elementals + 1 cleric)
        0 for Fire key (if you donate plat)
        3 for Water key (Living Pool + two elementals)
        2 for Air key (priest + goristro)
        6 for final fight (Falrinth, 4 elementals, Kriitch)

        For a required sixteen. Which is cutting that already nuts thirty down by half………

        …man, I shouldn’t have crunched that. Oh, well.. something to shoot for!

        (Cue memories of playing Tenchu over and over and over for that Grand Master ranking.. Lol)

  4. Trackback: The One Purposely Broken Stealth Mechanic | The Order of Syncletica
