The Dragonborn Monk: I Like It!

Please oh please or please let me make one as beautifully deadly as this one

I’ve not played D&D tabletop. But the addition of Dragonborn (unlike the Gnomes, except for their dancing and appearance, which are awesome) is a great one for Update 35, released today.

For starters, it’s the first reptilian player character. Second, it’s a fsckinDRAGON.

Most importantly, it fills in some important variations for Shintao players.

The race gets +2 STR, -2 DEX and +2 CHA. Decent base advantages for the Shintao tanker. The racial tree (at least based on the information as presented on the Lammania server) is also balanced well between being a strong fighter or mage. In short, it seems you cannot go wrong in either option. This obviously makes sense for a dragon race.

The look is also impressive. Hopefully the females don’t have bewbage (as the “female” Warforged do not, although the illustration does) as a weirdness. The appearance looks menacing yet curiously inviting. I’m looking forward to the character appearance variations in the character generation. A Dragonborn with lipstick and hair (!?) would be amusing.

Being a Human all the time to get (at least) no racial advantage or disadvantage, save more healing amplification, was boring. While Dragonborn only have a little innate racial amp, the Shintao itself gives plenty, and you get an inherently tougher race with innate Natural Armor and PRR bonuses. I know you could also go Half-Elf–but they are so butt-ugly as characters.

That said, I’m totally going to roll one up at my earliest opportunity. For raids such as those in Thunderholme and the new raid that comes with this new update, a dragon fighting a dragon should be a nice change of pace.

And my continued experimentation with UMD is also made easier with this race as a natural spellcaster.

Edited: Corrected base stats.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vladrich
    Mar 16, 2017 @ 19:09:41

    I’m interested in seeing how to play this with a mystic build, the Con bump could be extremely useful with how often Vlad gets punched in the face (granted, Vlad usually earns it by setting the entire room on fire….).

    Reply

  2. DDOCentral
    Mar 16, 2017 @ 22:05:55

    Reblogged this on DDOCentral.

    Reply

  3. FuzzyDuck81
    Mar 17, 2017 @ 04:44:21

    Haven’t had the chance to play much with them yet but TRed an alt into one – taking the player feedback into account and allowing the more distinct chromatic dragon colours was a great move, I went with red scales & it looks phenomenal in a cosmetic set of the slaver’s rags from slave lords chain.

    Reply

  4. saekee
    Mar 17, 2017 @ 08:54:51

    I think the dex hit will cost build points for qualifying for TWF if shintao, and hence also making it hard for ninjas. Ofc one who had good tomes coukd move the twf chain up a bit in the leveling, I suppose.

    Reply

  5. geoffhanna
    Mar 17, 2017 @ 09:12:10

    I wonder if dragonborn monks use the claw/claw/bite animation when fighting without weapons or if they use the mobile l Kung Fu animations?

    Reply

  6. Tetsuo Shojin
    May 11, 2017 @ 20:16:16

    I really feel the need to say this. I have been playing DDO since 2014 and this is hands down the best Monk site known to man. I have learned so much and have tweaked my builds based on what I’ve learned. I loved the Monk class in NWN and NWN2. Once I found out DDO had a monk. SOLD! So… the culmination of my short couple years of DDO. I have a Pick Centered build that just ROCKS. Holy Cow! I know you should never mix Monk levels, but Kensei 8 mixed with 12 monk, centered picks (Deathnips). Holy Cow! You are an inspiration and when work was slow I would do “DDO Research” on your website. So awesome. Took a bit but kept refining the builds. Thank you so much. One Sensei to another. Thank You!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: The Efficient Gamer | The Order of Syncletica

The Teacher awaits your insight...

